About us

paper planes e.V.

Nonprofit association
paper-planes.net

Contact

info@radbahn.berlin

The team behind the Radbahn formed a registered nonprofit association called paper planes e.V. in summer 2016. Our goal is to research innovative social and technological concepts that make urban spaces more people-oriented and environmentally friendly for more livable cities.

We believe that increasing urbanization brings with it great opportunities. If we manage to make the right investments in our cities, it will not only be possible to make our everyday environment more livable, but we can also tackle today’s major global challenges.

Our ‘paper planes’ are designed to inspire as many people as possible about the exciting opportunities of tomorrow. To make it happen, we develop concrete concepts, carry out comprehensive project planning and promote our ideas with convincing communication.

paper planes e.V. Team

Matthias Heskamp (Architect) is a force to be reckoned with. He studied under Pritzker prize-winning architect Álvaro Siza for 10 years in Porto and has led projects for David Chipperfield Architects in Berlin. As the head of the association, he dedicates himself full-time to paper planes e.V. Heskamp is a conceptual mastermind, coordinator and spokesperson all rolled into one.

Max Hoor (Human Geographer) is a research assistant in integrated transport planning at the Technical University of Berlin. He is also completing a PhD in urban cycling cultures and their political influence. He takes care of the social science questions associated with the Radbahn, actively seeks new partners for the project and co-ordinates fundraising.

Kristin Karig (Architect) worked as an urban planner and architect in her home town of Puebla in Mexico. In 2012 she was snapped up by an internationally renowned architecture firm in Berlin. Her practical experience in the activation of city spaces and her research expertise make her a valued member of paper planes e.V.

Nicolas Kasang (Urban Planner) is from the USA and after he finished his studies in Frankfurt am Main began working for the local environmental agency and later for BuroHappold Engineering in Berlin. Now he’s back in Frankfurt, where he dedicates his time to supporting improved collaboration for international aid projects and paper planes e.V.

Giulia Maniscalco (Architect) is a qualified architect who began her career as a journalist, writing articles about urban development and the social aspects of architecture for publications such as Arch+ magazine. The Italian with a keen eye for aesthetics now works in her original profession and advises paper planes e.V. on matters of design.

Perttu Ratilainen (MSc International Business) worked for a Fortune 500 company in Scandinavia for 11 years before leaving his leadership role in Public Relations to move to Berlin in 2014. paper planes e.V. benefits from his wealth of experience in marketing, financing and business development.

Stefano Tiracchia (Architect) is fascinated by the process of turning theory into practice. He recently guided a new building project through every single stage of development – from the initial draft through to the site management. His energy and enthusiasm spurs the entire team on to ever greater heights.

Simon Wöhr (Cultural Manager) has been a founding member of numerous urban development projects and bottom-up initiatives in Berlin, including Holzmarkt, Make City and the Haus der Statistik initiative. He always keeps the bigger picture in sight and is a valuable sparring partner during the project development at paper planes e.V.

Über uns

paper planes e.V.

Gemeinnütziger Verein
paper-planes.net

Kontakt

info@radbahn.berlin

Das Team hinter Radbahn hat sich im Sommer 2016 eine juristische Form gegeben: paper planes e.V. Unser gemeinnütziger Zweck ist es, gesellschaftliche und technologische Potenziale zu erforschen, die zu umwelt- und menschengerechteren und dadurch lebenswerteren Stadträumen führen.

Wir treten mit der Überzeugung an, dass in der zunehmenden Urbanisierung eine große Chance liegt. Wenn wir Menschen es schaffen, in unseren Städten die richtigen Investitionen zu tätigen, kann es gelingen, dass nicht nur unsere tägliche Umgebung lebenswerter wird, sondern sich auch die massiven globalen Herausforderungen angehen lassen.

Mit unseren „Papierfliegern” wollen wir möglichst viele Menschen für die Zukunft begeistern! Dazu arbeiten wir mit konkreten Visionen, ganzheitlichen Projektansätzen und einer emotionalen Kommunikation.

paper planes e.V. Team

Matthias Heskamp (Architekt) ist ein überzeugender Visionär. Er lernte zehn Jahre bei Pritzkerpreisträger Álvaro Siza in Porto und leitete Projekte für David Chipperfield Architects in Berlin. Als erster Vorsitzender widmet er seine Zeit derzeit hauptamtlich dem Verein paper planes e.V. Er ist konzeptionelles Mastermind, Koordinator und Sprachrohr in einem.

Max Hoor (Humangeograph) arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Fachgebiet Integrierte Verkehrsplanung der TU Berlin und promoviert zu urbanen Fahrradkulturen und ihrem politischen Einfluss. Für Radbahn deckt er die wissenschaftlichen Themen ab, engagiert sich in der Projektakquise und als Vernetzer.

Kristin Karig (Architektin) war zunächst als Stadtplanerin und Architektin in ihrer mexikanischen Heimatstadt Puebla tätig. Seit 2012 arbeitet sie in Berlin für international anerkannte Architekturbüros. Bei paper planes e.V. glänzt sie insbesondere mit ihrer Praxiserfahrung in der Aktivierung städtischer Räume sowie als Recherche-Ass.

Nicolas Kasang (Stadtplaner) stammt aus den USA. und hat nach seinem Studium in Frankfurt a.M. zunächst für das dortige Umweltamt gearbeitet und später für das BuroHappold Engineering in Berlin. Inzwischen wieder in Frankfurt, widmet er seine Zeit der Unterstützung besserer Zusammenarbeit bei der Entwicklungshilfe sowie paper planes e.V.

Giulia Maniscalco (Architektin) hat zunächst journalistisch gearbeitet und sich u.a. für die Zeitschrift Arch+ mit Stadtentwicklung und dem gesellschaftlichen Anspruch von Architektur auseinandergesetzt. Inzwischen arbeitet die gebürtige Römerin und Ästhetin in ihrem erlernten Beruf und entscheidet für paper planes e.V. über guten und schlechten Geschmack.

Perttu Ratilainen (International Business) war 11 Jahre für einer Fortune 500 Firma in Skandinavien tätig, bis er 2014 seine Führungsposition im Bereich Public Relations an den Nagel hing und nach Berlin zog. paper planes e.V. profitiert von seinem großen Erfahrungsschatz in Marketing, Finanzierung und Geschäftsentwicklung.

Stefano Tiracchia (Architekt) ist fasziniert davon, Theorie in Praxis zu verwandeln. Zuletzt hat er deshalb auch einen Neubau über alle architektonischen Leistungsphasen – vom Entwurf bis zur Bauleitung – realisiert. Die Freude und Power des Italieners steckt das ganze Team an!

Simon Wöhr (Kulturmanager) hat bereits etliche Berliner Stadtentwicklungsprojekte und Bottom-Up-Initiativen mitgeformt, u.a. Holzmarkt, Make City oder die Initiative Haus der Statistik. Für die Projektentwicklung von paper planes e.V. ist er wertvoll als kreativer Sparringspartner mit dem Blick auf das große Ganze.